ISU students initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

Seventy-nine students from Iowa State University were initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at a ceremony on May 1, 2016. Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Virginia, is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary society. It recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement in a broad curriculum in the liberal arts and sciences.

Phi Beta Kappa has more than 240 chapters in institutions of higher learning. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University was granted its chapter charter in 1973.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa is by invitation. The United Chapters recognizes three classes of members: members in course, alumni, and honorary members. However, Zeta Chapter of Iowa (ISU) elects members in course (undergraduates) and honorary members only. LAS associate dean Amy Slagell was inducted as an honorary member.

In February each year, eligible students are invited to membership, based on their records at the end of the fall semester. The number who may be invited is limited by national bylaws, so not all students who meet the minimum requirements can be invited. Students who meet the criteria for membership by graduation, but not earlier, are included in the following year’s invitation.

This year the following initiates received named awards in Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta Chapter of Iowa:

Jean Day Lassila Award for Excellence in the Liberal Arts and Sciences: Kyle John Cassaidy
Barbara Mack Award: Blake C. Heimann
Edward Allen Award in the Mathematical Disciplines: Alexander Maxwell
Jerry Shakeshaft Memorial Fund Award: Connor Benjamin Haugen
Ruth and Clayton Swenson Award in the Sciences: Kacie Marie Struve

Congratulations to the 2016 initiates: Brian Autry Austyn Beese Kyle Cassaidy Matthew Cook Abby Crimmins Ashley De Haan Alexander Donelson Mackenzie Doyle Taylor Finn Adam Hammes Theodore Hartman Connor Haugen Blake Heimann Andrew Lipp Alexander Maxwell Sara Mayer Mariah McGuire Erik Schaeffer Seth Selken Melanie Stoss Kacie Struve Mengyu Wang Ashley Young Madison Arnold Nicole Baker Kieran Bowe Carly Crist Jennifer Deckard Spencer Dodd Nick Doss Delanie Downey Breanna Elscott Allison Engwall Megan Escherich Barbara Forney Lisa Friesth Shannon Goes Lauren Greif Jennifer Gribble Jeffrey Gustafson Kylie Haggerty Robert Hein Mackenzie Jahn Nicholas Jensen Carly Johansen Iman Kashmola Samantha Keast Lauren Lain Maria Larrazabal Elizabeth Lennartson Szumei Leow Alex Luehm Belinda Mahama Amanda Malin Brenden Maxwell Stephanie McGrew Jeramie Mitchell Jazelli Mueterthies Chelsea Nicoletto Kaitlyn Ouverson John Pacer Kathlina Roat Matthew Roberts Britteny Ross Madison Sauer Samuel Shelton Danielle Sitzman Kristen Syvertsen Denis Tamiev Breana Van Beek Nora Walker Caitlin Ward Nicholas Whitehead Natalie Whitis Flora Yen