LAS welcomes three new chemistry faculty

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

This post was written by the Department of Chemistry. For more chemistry news, visit their website!

Robbyn K. Anand Robbyn K. Anand joined the chemistry faculty in August 2015 as an Assistant Professor. She earned her Ph.D. in 2010 from the University of Texas at Austin under the guidance of Prof. Richard M. Crooks with the support of an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship. She developed microfluidic devices employing bipolar electrodes for electrokinetic focusing of charged species and membrane-free seawater desalination. Then, as an NIH Postdoctoral Fellow, she worked with Prof. Daniel T. Chiu at the University of Washington on the capture and analysis of circulating tumor cells. She pioneered a technique for dielectrophoretic manipulation of biological cells using extended electric field gradients.

Jared Anderson Jared Anderson, Professor, joined the chemistry faculty in August 2015. He earned his B.S. in 2000 from South Dakota State University and his Ph.D. from Iowa State University in 2005. He joined the chemistry faculty at The University of Toledo where he rose through the ranks as an assistant professor (2005-2009), associate professor (2009-2011), and full professor (2011-2015). Anderson was a recipient of a NSF CAREER Award, Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award given by LCGC Magazine, and the American Chemical Society Young Investigator in Separation Science Award. In 2014, he was included in the “Top 40 under 40” Power List by the Analytical Scientist Magazine.

Aaron Rossini Aaron Rossini, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, received his B.Sc. in 2005 and Ph.D. in 2010 from the University of Windsor where he worked in the group of Prof. Robert W. Schurko on the development and application of solid-state NMR spectroscopy of unreceptive and exotic nuclei. From 2011 to 2014 he worked with Prof. Lyndon Emsley and Dr. Anne Lesage at the École Normale Supérieure de Lyon/CRMN Lyon as a Marie Curie post-doctoral fellow on the development and application of dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP) enhanced solid-state NMR spectroscopy.

Following postdoctoral work at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne with Prof. Lyndon Emsley he will join the chemistry faculty at Iowa State University in August 2015.