2015 LAS alumni award winners announced

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

The winners of the 2015 College of Liberal Arts and Sciences alumni awards have been announced by Dean Beate Schmittmann. The awards recognize the outstanding professional accomplishments of alumni and friends of the College.

“The selection of the College’s alumni award winners is exciting for us,” said Dean Schmittmann. “It gives us the opportunity to connect with some of our most distinguished alumni and friends and to recognize their outstanding achievements. We look forward to celebrating with them this fall.”

Dean Schmittmann said that the College received several high quality award nominations this year, which made the selection process very competitive. She is very appreciative of those who submitted nominations.

The 2015 award winners include:

Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award Joanne M. Kuster BS 1976 Home Economics Journalism Owner, Kuster Ltd./Dynaminds Publishing Johnston, Iowa

Citation of Merit Award Alice P. Hudson BS 1963 Chemistry President and Chief Executive Officer, Surface Chemists of Florida Jupiter, Fla.

Distinguished Service Award Carl E. Jacobson Professor, Department of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences, Iowa State University Ames, Iowa

John V. Atanasoff Discovery Award Oden L. Warren PHD 1993 Physical Chemistry President and Chief Technology Officer, Hysitron Corporation New Brighton, Minn.

Young Alumnus Award Lieutenant Commander Matthew D. Gleason BA 2002 Political Science Commanding Officer, USS DEXTROUS, Bahrain, U.S. Navy San Diego, Calif.

In addition, three College of Liberal Arts and Sciences alumni were selected for 2015 Iowa State University Alumni Association awards. They include:

James A. Hopson Alumni Volunteer Award Trey N. Hemmingsen BA 2011 Advertising Brighton, Mass.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award Emily R. Kinser BA 2004 Political Science BS 2004 Materials Science and Engineering MS 2005 Materials Science and Engineering New Haven, Conn.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award Suzanne N. Verma BA 1999 Biological/Pre-Medical Illustration Plano, Texas

The award winners will be recognized during the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Honors and Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 29, 2015. They will receive their awards on Friday, Oct. 30, 2015 at the Iowa State University Alumni Association’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony at the Scheman Building. The ceremonies will take place during Iowa State University’s Homecoming Week celebration.


About Liberal Arts and Sciences

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a world-class learning and research community. Iowa State’s most academically diverse college, LAS educates students to become global citizens, providing rigorous academic programs in the sciences, humanities and social sciences within a supportive personalized learning environment. College faculty design new materials, unravel biological structures, care for the environment, and explore social and behavioral issues. From fundamental research to technology transfer and artistic expression, the college supports people in its community and around the world.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Iowa State University

Contact: Kim McDonough, Liberal Arts and Sciences Alumni Relations Director, (515) 294-7487, kmm@iastate.edu