Iowa State University names Economics department chair

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

Joshua Rosenbloom, a professor of economics at the University of Kansas, has been named the chair of the Department of Economics at Iowa State University.

Joshua Rosenbloom

Rosenbloom will begin his duties Aug. 1. He succeeds John Schroeter, who has served as interim chair since 2011 and will return to the faculty.

“I’m very excited to be joining a department with such an excellent reputation and so many talented and productive members,” Rosenbloom said. “I look forward to working with everyone at Iowa State to build on the department’s record of success.”

Rosenbloom earned a doctorate in economics from Stanford University in 1988 and a bachelor’s degree in history from Oberlin College in 1981.

He joined the University of Kansas in 1988 as an assistant professor. He served as associate vice chancellor of research and graduate studies from 2006 to 2012, and as the interim dean of its graduate studies from 2011 to 2012.

Since 1993, he has been affiliated with the National Bureau of Economic Research as a research associate. From 2012 to 2014, Rosenbloom was on leave serving as a program director for the National Science Foundation’s Science of Science and Innovation Policy Program.

Iowa State’s economics department is jointly administered by the colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences and Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Contacts: Joshua Rosenbloom, Economics, (785) 864-2839, Ed Adcock, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications Service, (515) 294-2314, Laura Wille, Liberal Arts and Sciences Communications, (515) 294-7742,