5 chemistry professors honored for achievements

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

During November, five professors from the department of chemistry at Iowa State University were awarded and honored for their achievements within the field.

Assistant professors Art Winter, Brett VanVeller and Levi Stanley were named recipients of the Thieme Chemistry Journal Award by the editorial boards of Synlett, Synthesis, and Synfacts. This award recognizes them as promising young organic chemists.

The American Chemical Society awarded Morrill Professor Thomas J. Greenbowe the James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching Chemistry in Boston on November 6.

Edward Yu, the John D. Corbett Professor in Chemistry, was declared an AAAS fellow on November 28 for his contributions and efforts in advancing science, specifically in the field of efflux transporters.

“We like to think of ourselves as a strong department,” said William Jenks, chemistry department chair. “But it is surely fantastic to see so many of our colleagues receiving awards in such a short period of time.”

Jenks said that the department is very excited to obtain this kind of recognition and continue to showcase the tremendous amount of excellent faculty at Iowa State.


About Liberal Arts and Sciences The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a world-class learning and research community. Iowa State’s most academically diverse college, LAS educates students to become global citizens, providing rigorous academic programs in the sciences, humanities and social sciences within a supportive personalized learning environment. College faculty design new materials, unravel biological structures, care for the environment, and explore social and behavioral issues. From fundamental research to technology transfer and artistic expression, the college supports people in its community and around the world.

NEWS RELEASE College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Iowa State University

Contacts William Jenks, Chemistry, (wsjenks@iastate.edu) Kelsey Roehrich, Liberal Arts and Sciences Communications (roehrich@iastate.edu)