LAS recognizes 16 college alumni during Homecoming week

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

AMES, Iowa – The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University will recognize 16 alumni Thursday, Nov. 7, in its annual Alumni Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the Scheman Building on campus.

The ceremony takes place during the university’s 101st annual homecoming week festivities, which culminate Saturday, Nov. 9, with the Big 12 Conference football game between the Cyclones and TCU.

One LAS alum is receiving an Iowa State University Alumni Association award, five are receiving Liberal Arts and Sciences awards, and 10 will be recognized by LAS academic departments.

A list of the award winners follows. See photos and biographical information of the recipients in the ceremony program (pdf).

ISU Alumni Association Award Outstanding Young Alumni Award – Chad E. Harris (Political Science ’01)

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Alumni Awards Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award – Christine Romans (Journalism & Mass Communication and French ’93)

Distinguished Service Award – John G. Verkade

Distinguished Service Award – Zora Devrnja Zimmerman

John V. Atanasoff Research and Discovery Award – Keith R. Yamamoto (Biochemistry ’68)

Citation of Merit – Maj. Gen. Allen W. Batschelet (History ’83)

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Academic Department Alumni Awards Chemistry Outstanding Alumni Award – Christine Marie Aikens (Physical Chemistry ’05)

Computer Science Young Alumni Achievement Award – Matthew Renze (Computer Science and Philosophy ’11)

Computer Science Alumni Achievement Award – George O. Strawn (Mathematics ’69)

English Outstanding Alumni Award – Adrienne P. Lamberti (Ph.D. Rhetoric and Professional Communication ‘03, MA English – Creative Writing ’96)

Geological and Atmospheric Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award – Raymond L. Ethington (BS Geology ‘51, MS Geology ’55)

Geological and Atmospheric Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award – Capt. Raymond R. Delgado III (Meteorology ’91)

Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service – Barbara Mack – In Memory (Journalism & Mass Communication ‘74)

History Outstanding Alumni Award – Leo E. Landis (History ‘87)

Music & Theatre Outstanding Alumni Award – Jeffrey Prater (Music ’69)

Political Science Alumni Achievement Award – Heather M. Hobson (Political Science ’94)


About Liberal Arts and Sciences The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a world-class learning and research community. Iowa State’s most academically diverse college, LAS educates students to become global citizens, providing rigorous academic programs in the sciences, humanities and social sciences within a supportive personalized learning environment. College faculty design new materials, unravel biological structures, care for the environment, and explore social and behavioral issues. From fundamental research to technology transfer and artistic expression, the college supports people in its community and around the world.

NEWS RELEASE College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 
Iowa State University

Contact: Laura Wille, Liberal Arts & Sciences Communications, (515) 294-7742,