12 LAS faculty, staff earn Iowa State University Awards

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

Twelve College of Liberal Arts and Sciences faculty and staff have received University Awards for excellence in research, leadership, teaching and advising. The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost announced the honors this week.

Recipients of the awards will be honored at Iowa State University’s fall convocation.

The 2013 University Award recipients from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences:

ISU Award for Departmental Leadership Michael Bugeja, Director and professor, Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication

Morrill Professor Thomas Greenbowe, professor of chemistry

ISU Award for Mid-Career Achievement in Research Ruslan Prozorov, professor of physics and astronomy and associate scientist at the Ames Laboratory

ISU Award for Early Achievement in Research Peng Liu, associate professor of statistics

ISU Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research Mei Hong, professor of chemistry

Margaret Ellen White Graduate Faculty Award William Meeker, Distinguished Professor of Statistics

James Huntington Ellis Award for Excellence in Introductory Teaching John W. Monroe, associate professor of history

Louis Thompson Distinguished Undergraduate Teacher Award Patricia Thiel, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science & Enginneering, and John D. Corbett Professor of Chemistry

ISU Award for Early Achievement in Academic Advising Michelle Tremmel, academic adviser in English Education

ISU Award for Early Achievement in Teaching Arthur Winter, assistant professor of chemistry

P&S Research Award Marek Pruski, adjunct professor of chemistry and senior scientist at the Ames Laboratory

P&S Excellence Award Ling Li, associate scientist and adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology

Congratulations to all the recipients!