Liberal Arts and Sciences recognizing 21 college alumni during Homecoming week

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

AMES, Iowa – The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University will recognize 21 alumni Thursday, Oct. 25, in its annual Alumni Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the Scheman Building on campus.

The evening ceremony takes place during the university’s 100th annual homecoming week festivities, which culminate Saturday, Oct. 27, with the Big 12 Conference football game between the Cyclones and Baylor.

Seven of the alumni are receiving Iowa State University Alumni Association awards, four are receiving Liberal Arts and Sciences awards, and 10 will be recognized by LAS academic departments

A list of the award winners follows. See photos and biographical information of the recipients in the ceremony program (pdf).

ISU Alumni Association Awards Impact Award – James K. Olberding (History ’63)

Alumni Merit Award – Eric Imerman (BS Sociology ’91, MS ’96, PhD ’99)

Alumni Service Award – Tim Coble (Computer Science ’77)
and Mary Katherine (Pattie) Wells (Spanish & English ’62)

Award for Superior Service to Alumni – Michael Golemo

James A. Hopson Alumni Volunteer Award – Lisa M. Frerichs (Journalism & Mass Communication ’03)
and Sophia Magill (Political Science ’05)

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Alumni Awards Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award – Joan Urenn Axel (History ’64)

Young Alumna Award – Lauren S. Hughes (Spanish & Zoology ’02)

Distinguished Service Award – Gillian Murphy (Distributed Studies ’83)

John V. Atanasoff Research & Discovery Award – John R. Ohlfest (Biology ’01)

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Academic Department Alumni Awards Computer Science Alumni Achievement Award – Thomas J. Miller (Computer Science ’72)

English Outstanding Alumni Award – Elizabeth Wardle (Rhetoric and Professional Communication ’03)

Geological and Atmospheric Sciences Distinguished Alumni Awards – Thomas Black (Meteorology ’76), Lyle V. A. Sendlein (Geology and Soil Engineering ’64), and Jack C. Troeger (BS English ’67, MS Earth Science ’71)

Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication James W. Schwartz Award for Distinguished Service – Barbara Riedesel Iverson (Journalism ’76)

Mathematics / World Languages & Cultures Distinguished Alumni Award – Donald D. Steiner (BS Mathematics ’76, BA German and MS Mathematics ’78, PhD Mathematics ’84)

Music & Theatre Outstanding Alumni Award – Joseph Wilgenbusch – In Memory (Voice Performance ’05)

Political Science Alumni Achievement Award – Marcia F. Bisenius (Public Administration ’84)

Psychology Distinguished Alumni Award – Paula Goolkasian (MS Psychology ’72, PhD Experimental Psychology ’74) -30-

About Liberal Arts and Sciences The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a world-class learning and research community. Iowa State’s most academically diverse college, LAS educates students to become global citizens, providing rigorous academic programs in the sciences, humanities and social sciences within a supportive personalized learning environment. College faculty design new materials, unravel biological structures, care for the environment, and explore social and behavioral issues. From fundamental research to technology transfer and artistic expression, the college supports people in its community and around the world.

NEWS RELEASE College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Iowa State University

Contact: Laura Wille, Liberal Arts & Sciences Communications, (515) 294-7742,