Iowa State names Jonathan Wendel a Distinguished Professor; Gordon Miller honored as University Professor

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

AMES, Iowa – Two College of Liberal Arts and Sciences professors have earned the university’s top faculty honors.

Jonathan Wendel, of the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology, has been named a Distinguished Professor, and Gordon Miller of the Department of Chemistry has been named a University Professor. The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost announced the honors last week.

Eleven additional LAS faculty and staff members received other university awards.

"LAS is very proud to receive such a large number of awards this year," said Dean Beate Schmittmann. "All award winners have distinguished themselves, either through internationally recognized research excellence, outstanding contributions to our teaching mission, or dedicated and effective service. My warmest congratulations!"

All university award recipients will be recognized at the University Convocation on Sept. 24.

2012 University Award Recipients from Liberal Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Professor Jonathan Wendel, Professor and Chair of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology

University Professor Gordon Miller, Professor of Chemistry

P&S Research Award Sergey Budko, Scientist, Ames Laboratory and Adjunct Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Award for Early Achievement in Teaching Jana Byars, Assistant Professor of History

Award for Early Achievement in Teaching Chun Kit (Jason) Chan, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Award for Outstanding Career Achievement in Research Carolyn Cutrona, Professor and Chair of Psychology

Award for International Service Chad Gasta, Associate Professor of World Languages and Cultures

Award for Mid-Career Achievement in Research Daniel Nettleton, Laurence H. Baker Endowed Chair in Biological Statistics and Professor of Statistics

Award for Early Achievement in Research Mayly Sanchez, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Award for Academic Advising Impact Kevin Schilling, Associate Professor of Music and Theatre

Regents Award for Faculty Excellence Thomas Greenbowe, Professor of Chemistry and of Curriculum and Instruction (College of Human Sciences)

Regents Award for Faculty Excellence Suraj Kothari, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (College of Engineering) and of Computer Science

Regents Award for Staff Excellence Stephen Heideman, Program Coordinator, Chemistry


NEWS RELEASE College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Iowa State University

Contact: Steve Jones, Liberal Arts & Sciences Communications, (515) 294-0461,