Liberal Arts and Sciences awards honoring 29 college faculty, staff members

CATEGORIES: Uncategorized

Liberal Arts and Sciences has announced that 29 faculty and staff members have received college awards this year. These recipients will be formally recognized at the LAS Faculty/Staff Convocation on Aug. 29.

2012 Liberal Arts and Sciences Award Recipients

Outstanding Achievement Award – Teaching Ulrike Genschel, Assistant Professor, Statistics Mark Redmond, Associate Professor, English

Introductory Teaching Award Steven M. Kautz, Lecturer, Computer Science Erin Wilgenbusch, Senior Lecturer, Greenlee School Theresa Windus, Professor, Chemistry

Cassling Family Award James Colbert, Associate Professor, Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology – Cassling Award for Outstanding Teaching Jana Byars, Assistant Professor, History – Cassling Award for Early Achievement in Teaching

Jerry Shakeshaft Award Jason Chan, Assistant Professor, Psychology

Early Achievement Research Award Gregory Oakes, Assistant Professor, Music Wensheng Zhang, Associate Professor, Computer Science

Mid-Career Research Award Anne M. Bronikowski, Associate Professor, Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology Volker Hegelheimer, Associate Professor, English Xueyu Song, Professor, Chemistry

Outstanding Career Research Award Amy Andreotti, Professor, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology Dianne Helen Cook, Professor, Statistics William Gutowski, Professor, Geological and Atmospheric Sciences

International Service Award Constance Post, Associate Professor, English

Academic Advising Award – Early Career Lois E. Girton, Academic Advisor III, Genetics, Development and Cell Biology

P&S Excellence Award Mark Mathison, Teaching Laboratory Coordinator, Geological and Atmospheric Sciences

P&S Outstanding New Professional Award Michelle Duncalf, Administrative Specialist II, Ames Laboratory Diana McLaughlin, Administrative Specialist III, Economics

Outstanding Teaching Award – Lecturer Susan Benner, Senior Lecturer, English Ellen B. Pirro, Lecturer, Political Science

Diversity Award Bonnie S. Bowen, Adjunct Assistant Professor/ADVANCE Executive Director, Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology

P&S Award for Excellence in Information Technology Sheng Ly, Systems Analyst, Greenlee School

Merit Excellence Award Patricia Boone, Secretary II, Chemistry Ellen A. Olson, Secretary II, Mathematics Deanna Stumbo, Secretary II, English

Learning Community Award Denise M. Hix, Academic Adviser, Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology/Genetics, Development and Cell Biology

2012 ISU Awards